How I got my ex back ...

mentee

Hi everyone,

I had no idea this forum existed until a few days ago, and I find it so helpful. I really wish I knew about it years ago when I was having relationship issues. This is my first time posting, and I simply wanted to share my story.

I was with my ex for a year, but we had a lot of problems. I loved him very much but was very unhappy with him for many reasons. We were both in medical school at the time, which detrimentally affected our relationship. We were under a lot of stress and reacted to things differently than normal because of the stress. I won't go into the details, but it got to a point that I was so unhappy, I had to break up with him. He knew I had been unhappy and begged me to give him a chance. I really loved him but felt that we needed time to grow and take care of ourselves, and I told him that hopefully in the future we'll be together again. We didn't contact each other after that.

A few months went by and I met someone else. I didn't feel ready to date because I still loved my ex, but the new guy was very charming and had a lot of qualities my ex didn't have. He also pursued me aggressively so I eventually gave him a chance. But after many dates (and nothing physical ever happened), I realized how much I still loved my ex and wanted to be with him. I wrote him an email to tell him how I felt. He wrote back saying that he didn't want to get back together but that he would always love me. I didn't give up after that. At the time I would write in a journal, and I had written with raw honesty about my feelings (or lack of) for the new guy and how I still loved my ex and why I loved him. I sent maybe 3-4 journal entries to him and got no response.

After that I began to move on and felt happy that at least he knew what I wanted him to know. One day, out of the blue, he knocks on my door, says how much he misses me and loves me. And we get back together that night and stayed together for the next 2 years.