I screw things up, how can I make up to him?

longhaircats

I've done the most stupid things ever and I've been kicking myself. I really screw things up with a guy and I feel like I pushed him 1000 miles away.

He is a lecturer at my university (let's call him R) and I am a PhD student. One nigth about 6 months ago a bunch of us went out to a pub to celebrate our friend who just passed viva. All of us got really drunk that night and I ended up sleeping over R’s place. About a week later he asked me out on a proper first date, and since then we went out on and off whenever we were both in town (we both travel overseas extensively). I really really liked him, but I never really understood what was going on between us. I haven't seen him for the past 3 months and during this time I went out with someone else, but this guy dumped me 10 days ago over an email to get back together with his ex. I was hurt and upset for about 5 days, but I got over him very quickly because he was really a jerk at the end. Plus I knew R is coming back in town.