Good idea or not?

Hey, its my first time posting something on this website. I found out about it through a friend and she said it was a good site to look for some advice. Anyway, I got this little problem. There was this girl that I met at this place, we both like each other a lot but our age difference and her mom wont let us hook up. So will it be a good idea, if me and her just stay friends? Cuz i really feel bad that were not gonna be hooking up but if we cant be together, we might as well be friends right?

Its the age difference between us two which is 6 years apart. I know shes interested in me and im interested in her, but I just dont want her out of my life, so the best thing we can do is just be friends. I just turned 20 and shes turning 15 soon. I look very young for my age, i look like im 17 and she looks old for her age like shes 16 or 17. Anyway, is becoming just friends the best thing that can happen out of this? Or will it become more of a problem? Thanks in advance.

I mean this in the nicest way possible, but your mom may be right about this one. While I can understand the two of you maybe having good conversations and such, you may want different things out of life. You may be more into planning a life for yourself while she is still enjoying her high school and figuring out who she is as a person. Also, it would not be fair to her to be in a relationship with someone who may be ready for more in the way of a physical relationship that she is. Even if you are very understanding it is still likely that she will feel presured into doing things because she assumes it is what you want.