I feel unfulfilled... and advice on my new idea?

I went to school for graphic design and have since found a job at a design company, but the work isn't that creative. I've been thinking about doing some freelance work, possibly posting an ad in the newspaper of my hometown. I live a few hours away from there, but I think that since it's a smaller town (they don't have kinds of options for graphic design) and I since I'm just looking for something small to start off with and gain experience, that it would be the best place to start. I do live in a city now, but I'm not THAT experienced yet and it is kind of intimidating. I go to my hometown enough and they could also contact me by e-mail.

Does anyone have any tips for doing this? Any ideas?

I think this has a lot to do with me feeling unfulfilled in my life. I need something to fill it up and I do love art, and I have access to printing resources since I live in the city.

Anyways, thanks..

I just feel like this is something I need to do but I'm not sure how to go about doing it.

I can relate to the feeling of being unfulfilled, and I think that you're on the right track by doing something you love to fill the time. The only real advice that I have for you is to make sure you read up on how others have successfully done freelance work. There are a few things you'll need to consider, such as how you will prevent yourself from getting burned, how to write contracts, and what is considered a fair price for your work. You may want to read up on how to start your own business for some good information, as well, especially since freelancing is a bit like having your own business.

This may sound a bit silly, but do you have art that you create for fun? If so, can you enter some of your art in a local art show or auction? Sometimes it can be fulfilling to have your work recognized and appreciated by others (and may lead to some new friends or connections).