Feel like my life is falling apart at the seams

And at the heart of it is the loss I feel for my ex boyfriend. It's been about 3 months since BU/NC (went NC immediately). I've had many lovers over the years of differing lengths of time and intensity, but 3 months on I don't feel any different to the day we broke up, feel like I'll never get over this one. It definitely feels different in many ways.

I'm not a mess, I can get on with life and do what I need to do. But there is such a great sense of loss and sadness, especially when I think of his beautiful face. We broke after 7 months because he said he didn't think he could fall in love with me. We never argued, we always made the most of our time, and I've never met anyone, of any sex, age, friend, lover, family member, that I had so much in common with and felt so at ease with.

I don't believe in soulmates but damn, he was close.

Now I'm in a loveless rebound relationship. I've never done that before, always given myself time to heal, but this time someone came along and was sweet and made me feel special and I latched onto it. Fast forward 3 months and ... well he is disinterested, we have little in common and sometimes he isn't even nice to me. But I can't say go because I'm weak like that and I'm scared. I do want him to leave me tho ...

Has this rebound relationship stalled any progress? Or was I going to feel no sense of progress anyway? Like I say I am "coping" ok? (despite nearly every other aspect of my life being miserable too, social life, work, health, money).

I look forward to going to bed at night, so I can dream about my ex.

Leave the rebound relationship.

My ex left me (different time from our most recent split -.-) and we were apart for 3 months, I met someone else who seemed sweet to start with but turned out to be a nasty piece of work (bullet dodged) anyway.