Has anyone done a dissertation?

Hi everyone..

I'm in my final year at university and wanting some tips on how to write a 1st class dissertation..

I'm doing a research project/experiment so I know I need to explain these, and I plan to explain them as different studies.

At the moment I am about to start my introduction which needs to be 3-4 thousand words.. I haven't started my data collection yet, but I know I can get my methods section done etc.

So anyway, tips please? what to/not to include?

Thanks all,

Butters

What's your subject? And what's the total length of the dissertation?

One thing I will suggest is that if you're having trouble getting started with it, just write some of the "easier" bits first - you don't have to begin writing at the beginning and carry on to the end.

In fact, if you know what your conclusions are going to be, it's sometimes easier to write the conclusions first (at least in outline) then explain how you got there.

I'm doing it on the effects of insomnia and restricted sleep on academic achievement.

Ah, okay, I hope you're not using yourself as a test subject.

My dissertation was in art history so I can't really speak for the sciences. But for what it's worth, I'd suggest you:

- State the question, in summary.

- State the approach, in summary.

- Explore in more detail the question, why it is important, what work has been done on it before, what further questions that raises.

- Explore in more detail the approach, explaining why each aspect of it is the right one to address these particular questions.