"It's never too late"

I have a huge problem with regret.

Regret almost entirely controls my mind and emotions at this point in time (19 currently). In fact, my 19th birthday was recently, and I think this is when it struck me how far behind in life I am.

I have always taken the easy way out- of everything- in school I slid by because I took minimal loads and easy classes. I was a good student I suppose, but had I had friends to party with or hang out and waste time with earlier in my life I surely would not have graduated.

Almost all of my inspirational figures started their career journeys early in their lives (i.e. musicians who started playing at 13/14 or even like 5 years old). Or people who started programming super early who are now computer geniuses at about 15 years old.

I have a huge problem sticking to things. I've never followed through with the things I do. I always am jumping around and it has severely affected my focus and ability to get things done. This has led to even more problems like depression and low self-confidence.

So I am 19, I am filled with so much regret about EVERYTHING: I've spent my money so terribly and stupidly. The same obviously goes for my time.

I've wasted so much time trying to figure out what I want to actually do in life, and its so hard to jump into things now because I feel overwhelmed with possibilities. AND I END UP DOING NOTHING!

I know that people commonly do nothing when they are overwhelmed, but its been like this for a while. I've just been trudging through schoolwork/work and hanging out with friends and being unproductive every chance I get.

While I feel hopeless, I still constantly dream and fantasize like I've been doing my entire life. But my dreams are almost unrealistic and very vague. I have a hard time even taking baby steps because then I feel ashamed that I'm not putting in more effort.