Looking to work in the US.

Xplode

Ok, i currently live in australia, but for somereason see myself drawn to the US, i have a huge earge to just come and move to new york and work. currently im a gprahic designer in Australia, been working for 2 years in the industry, and im just asking the question. with the "finacial crisis", shoud i be avoiding the move. or reconsidering. and is there much work for graphic designers, if so does anyone know of any good job sites etc.

Thank you in advance all for your input

You are being drawn to the US because of the aura and excitement they create and their complete denial of anything negative. Unless you are an extremely skilled professional with a nice skill that is in high demand you are going to find your working conditions will be a lot better in Australia.

The US is designed to benefit the top % of the population where in Australia it is all set up to try to benefit more people. Neither system is better. You will find in the USA that people are not treated as well by their superiors. This is because of a different mindset. In the US suboordinates are seen as almost property of the superior to do with as they please in a working context. The attitudes are very different. So I suggest staying in Australia. If you want a change there is the UK or NewZeland. Bad time for the US right now.

It is also pretty hard to just go over there and work. You'd need an employer to sponsor you.

I don't think New York is the first place I'd choose - it's hideously expensive and competitive, although there are a lot of companies there, I agree, being a media capital.

You might think about Chicago or Los Angeles? I think there would be jobs in your field and the cost of living is not as bad as NYC. You could work your way to New York, and the competition for a green card wouldn't be as bad I would think (could be wrong).