my dad is so mean

traeh

My dad is completely inconsiderate towards my (or anyone else's) feelings. Let's just take tonight for instance, when I asked him for help with my finances. Rather than helping me, he criticized me, telling me that I should 'pick up a book,' and that the tv show that I watched today is turning my 'brain into jello.' Now, not to sound conceited or anything, I am an intelligent woman with a well-paying job. However, I just got out of college last year, so I'm still learning the ropes in regards to dealing with finances. I just can't believe my dad can be so callous and so critical. I flipped out and let a few f-bombs fly because I was so hurt. I feel like he's just too lazy to help me with anything and he's just criticizing me as an excuse.

I hate my dad! He's always putting me down and I'm sick of it.

Rather than helping me, he criticized me, telling me that I should 'pick up a book,' and that the tv show that I watched today is turning my 'brain into jello.'

Yeah, that wasn't helpful. Maybe he was covering for feeling like he wasn't up to teaching? I've done a lot of tutoring and family phone "tech support," and it can be pretty trying.

I flipped out and let a few f-bombs fly because I was so hurt.

I know you probably don't want to hear this, but that sounds like an overreaction. I know that I probably wouldn't have any desire to help you in the future if you did something like that to me. I have a hard time with it when someone is merely rude to me when asking for help in a forum, let alone serious swearing in person.

Godless_Heathen: My dad knows a lot about finance so he could have easily assisted me. However, he just doesn't want to because he never wants to help with anything.