Winter = low energy / negative mood ?

thePuma

Hi.

I'm a nurse, a very introverted one. I always prefer to stay home than to go out. Many years ago I let myself fall into a downward spiral of depression and I would be so reclusive that I wouldn' interact with real people for several days. I would just stay in my room with my computer. However, I eventually managed to kick the blues and stay active even if I'm still very introverted.

Right now I'm spending two weeks at home to pay for all the extra shifts that I worked on previous years. It's winter, always raining and I barely leave the house even though there's plenty to do outside around the house. I noticed that I'm feeling very demotivated, having many negative toughts, overeating and barely finding the energy to leave the bed or the sofa. And for no apparent reason.

I am aware of seasonal affective disorders and I don't think I have it. But I can't help but think that the lack of sun is messing up with my mood, specially because I felt so active last summer.

Has anyone experienced something like this? What did you try to help solve it?

What is it that's keeping you from leaving the house to do... let's say grocery shopping or even visiting friends? Is it the weather? I've noticed that when I spend too much time inside or am stuck somewhere (even at home) for more than 2-3 days I start getting moody and frustrated easily. Sometimes I've stayed inside my apartment for 2 days straight without leaving (I might be an exception haha)... anyway that often leads to a short period of depression, usually a day. Going out solves that but the thought of being out in cold weather isn't fun. I think it comes down to a change in scenery. Seeing and experiencing the same thing everyday becomes incredibly dull after awhile.