How to get a job?

I'm very shy and have no confident in myself. I have no experience and I felt like an idiot being unable to speak very well. I'm trying my best to overcome my low self-esteem but it often just come back every now and then, telling me how useless I am. And how no one in their right mind would hire me.

But I will try my best and hopefully I can get some great advices from everyone. I have a few questions if anyone can give me some pointers.

How do you write a resume? I find that most examples of resume are a tad exaggerated. Should I write an honest report or make it sounds, you know, a bit over my ability. But then, what exactly are my abilities? How do you know what you are good at, because I feel like I'm not really good at anything, everything is just average... And I only have a H.S diploma.

Where should I go to find work? I'm keeping my eyes on Craig's list.

Lastly, I keep seeing ads with "based on experience" or to be discussed in person. How do I know what amount to ask or if they're giving me a bad deal because I'm new. I know I should get a lower payment for being new and all, but how do I know I'm getting a lot less than other people in the same position?

I'm trying to apply for assistant jobs and helping out in Child Care Center. If anyone worked there before could give me a few tips, it would be much appreciated.