Academia?

JW78

So, first time writing this stuff and I am sure that it will be great/relieving just to get it out.

I am an Adjunct professor at a small Art and Design college. I have been there, as an adjunct for 4 yrs and I have taught every single class that the foundations department offers. I have been passed over for Full time positions before and another round of hiring is starting. I have the same feeling now about getting full time at the college as I had last time. Being a professor is amazing and I love teaching but there is so few of positions in CO that I feel like it is a dead end. I have a MFA in sculpture and have a vast array of knowledge, but don't feel that I am qualified for anything specific. Don't know if I should keep hoping that I will get a full time at a College or just give up the hopes and dreams that I have had for the past 6 yrs.

Any suggestions? I am lost......

J

I am tenure-track, and even so I am most likely quitting soon for a regular job; the long hours, the low pay, and the geographic and personal compromises I've had to make to be where I am just aren't worth it any more, whereas the options outside of academia are relatively attractive. At 31, if I go the nonacademic route, I can have the luxury of living near a city, living in the same state as my boyfriend and family, and making a decent salary--things most people take for granted. At the end of the day, I can drop my job and go home, without always feeling pressure to create and publish. I can have a life.