why do I procrastinate?

mikelopez

I feel good then bad then good then bad...

I am a first generation college student; two older sisters made it graduated electrical engineers. I have a pot addiction which i am working on with a 12 step program and attenind land meetings, aa meetings, na meetings, and seen my school counselor. i study the same subject as my sisters but abviously due to my set backs I am on the 6 year plan to graduate. I been in good shape before nice body, but I seem to be getting out of shape eating more. I feel sluggish and lazy and ugly at times because i gained about 20 pounds in the last 2-3 months. I make excuses to not get things done. I really want to study but I dont. I come here read post, if not i just watch maywaether youtube videos, music videos, and munch. I feel like I dont take much care of myself like I used to. Is it because I want to do so many things that i procrastinate. I want to be an engineer, get good grades, workout, box, jujitsu, swim, sports, look good again, eat healthy again, keep my things organized, my car clean, attend land meetings, be of service to others, go to church, be a lawyer, read more, learn new languages, and stop wasting time.....what is wrong with me my life is so simple but i make it harder on myself why??? i dont get it im 21 letting my life slip away why???? I am avoiding all my past freinds because i know they keep me down but i feel akward lame, like a looser idk.......help

I get into the same kind of funks as you do. There's so much I want to do, but it's just easier to munch on snacks and watch DVDs.

Making to-do lists and schedules help me out. Start small and just plan out small things you want to get done in one day. Could just be housework, going to the gym, etc. Get small things done and relish in how good it feels to have it done and out of the way.