Omg, grad school! D:

Hey guys!

This coming year will be the last of my Bsc. I'm interested in my fellow ENAer's experience with the process of application; what were the things you've done or wish you had done and what it's like trying to figure your way around your first year?

I noticed that most grad students are pretty much invisible their first year, rarely making appearances at social events. Why is that?

Additional questions: Do department chairs make good advisors? Are they necessarily the best or higher up on "hierarchy"? How do I find out who's actually the best/gets the most say in my department?

Any advice is greatly appreciated. Sorry for posting about this a lot. I'm such a worry wart. Thanks in advance!

I don't know how it is everywhere but I got my masters from a combo upper undergrad/grad school and I don't remember anyone being "invisbile". I suspect that is because first year grad students aren't always worried about jobs then whereas later students are. I don't know since most of my classmates were older and already working. My advisors were those already in the department which worked for me because many were working professionals. Probably depends on the school.

Hey guys!

This coming year will be the last of my Bsc I will be working on a research project for credits with the departmental chair, but I still feel like I'm walking into the unknown. I'm interested in my fellow ENAer's experience with the process of application; what were the things you've done or wish you had done and what it's like trying to figure your way around your first year?