Nursing School

Hello All!

SO, I am currently taking my pre-req courses to apply to nursing programs. Frankly, I'm not exactly EXPECTING to get in my first time applying as the competition is RIDICULOUSLY high!

My question is...what do I do in the meantime to wait to get in? The schools I am looking at don't have waitlists, but are just impacted and selective.

Thank you!!!

I'm looking at doing the same thing, hopefully starting in August here in Missouri. I have to take the ACT tomorrow.

Do you work or volunteer in a health-related field? I work as a receptionist in a doctor's office, and that really helps me to be totally immersed in medicine.

I would think also that anything that you could do that was of service to others would be worth your time as well, if you didn't do anything medically related ... for example, I coach my son's Little League team and try to give some time to helping out at the food pantry, etc.

Hope this helps

im in the same boat as you guys....i've decided to minor in nutrition or psychology or child development as i wait. I know some of my other friends are majoring in those field while they wait and if nursing doesn't work out, then they have something else to fall back on.

Do you have any CNA (Nursing Assistant) training programs in your area? They run anywhere from only 2 weeks to 2 months, and that way you can find a job as a nursing assistant until you get into nursing school.

I became a nursing assistant before I was thinking about applying to nursing school, and 2 years later I'm still working as a nursing assistant and love it. It is a VERY flexible job to have, especially when you're in school. I ended up going to school for something else, but I have never regretted my decision in becoming a nursing assistant.

what kind of responsibilties do you have as a CNA?