new to this scene

HDD

Hi everyone,

i am new to this attraction, flirting and dating scene so i need to ask you guys for some advice/tips on how its done. Its been a while since i've actually dated, i have been in a 6 year relationship that just ended couple of months ago and I am not ready to date yet but i just wanted to test the water and see if i still have it in me to meet new people. You see something happened couple of days ago with this guy but i think I blew it somehow (maybe not) which is why i need to ask your opinion.

so i was out of town vacationing in tropical paradise and i was sitting at a coffee shop browsing the net, when this guy who was sitting in the table front of me (Hot!) started talking to me. it felt like he was interested in getting to know me better. we talked for like 40 minutes or so and then he had to leave but before he left he gave me his # and asked me to stop by this place where he usually hangs out. So, i thought to myself, why not. I went, but it was kind of odd cause we only talked for like 20 minutes and he said he had to leave. He said he will call me later to see if i will be at the coffee shop. but i didnt go there that evening and neither did he call.

The next day i stopped at the coffee place to check my email and bumped into him again but this time he was busy reading and didnt really want to talk. So, i just did my thing and he left without even saying bye. So, i had to get back in town the next day and sent him a text message saying it was nice to meet him, but i didnt get any response back. i guess he lost interest or something in me, dont know why. probably cause i am NOT good at this. but i gave it a shot and it felt good to know that i still have something in me to attract men with.

So, what do u think? did he just figure, i didnt live there so whats the point? i did not gve him any indication of wanting to be more than friends... i dont want to be in a relationship now, just want to meet new people.