Time to find another internship?

Hello,

I've recently posted about this here a few times now.

This month is going to mark 13 months that i've been a part-time intern (while being a full time student) at an advertising/media agency. Last year was great in the sense that I learned many new things. But in the past 3/4 months or so, I feel like I haven't learned anything new, and that these people are putting me to do a lot of routine stuff where I'm not allowed to put my skills into action.

Yes, I've talked to them about it. What I basically asked is if they could move me to a different area (research) within the company, but they pretty much implied that they could not because they need me to do the same stuff in the area that I'm in - otherwise they have to hire and train someone else to do it. They've also told me that since I'm part-time, they cannot rely on me for big projects since I don't put in enough time.

I currently work with the research director on a small project but it really doesn't involve much "brains." He told me around Sept of last year that there was a chance they would indeed move me to work directly under him, but that fizzled and never came to fruition. I think once I told him that I put in 15 hours a week (and that I have an irregular schedule where I don't necessarily come in the same days every week due to school), it somehow might have drawn a red flag that he can't rely on me as he would a full-time person.

I think that such a situation is not a very favorable one for me. I graduate from college in December and I wish to be able to learn different things in different areas and gain exposure to different types of work before I get my marketing degree. The area i'm in specializes in media buying which is not really what i'm interested in, even though we handle a big client.