Well....at least its more Sadness Than Jealousy

Way back when I was a good student and an all-round High Achiever, I even found it within myself to get a solid friendship group together.

We were all fifteen or so, and in a school for bright kids (oh, I know...hmm, not sure how healthy THAT was). None of us were "outcasts", but certainly not part of the "popular crowd" - having said that, neither did we want to be. We formed a kind of clan/group that went so far as to have a password/members only forum. I maintain we weren't elitist, but we had a very strong mutual bond.

Nine strong-minded, very intelligent individuals (the last year I was in that school, there were 12 prizes awarded in our year...and our group claimed 7 of them or something daft like that!).

Then I had a mental breakdown and left. And, over the next couple of years, I kept in touch with a few, but dropped out of contact with most. Not that I had a new group; I didn't. And going to a college in poorest part of the country, next to some of the roughest estates in the area was so utterly refreshing. Not only did they offer Philosophy, I didn't have to wear "business clothes", I didn't have to constantly worry that I would be perceived as anything less than "terribly bright", and so on and so forth. And the people...at my college, everything is better, more genuine, more relaxed.

Not that my old friend ever understood that, and now we live in completely different worlds. Part of me feels ungrateful - I didn't benefit from the "great education" that was offered at my old school....Part of me feels envious..."how come they could put up with an environment like that and I couldn't?"

I'm a year behind them all academically, two of them have places/are at effin' Oxford for heavens' sake. The rest are at very respectable Unis and one is on her way to being a biomedical scientist.