Fraternity amongst students in different cultures

I graduated from university this year (was educated in IT sphere), and observed quite an intresting phenomenon - a presense of so-called fraternity or brotherhood-like relationships amongst vast majority of students. Its main idea is simple, yet powerful, to help thy nearest in need. Not rivalry and competition, but help and protection.

I once read an article which dealt with quite an infamous difference between individual-oriented and collectivistic cultures. It stated, above all, that these cultures are not only different, but also antagonstic in their ideals.

The first type concentrates on one particular individual's achievements, and values independence, self-confidence and performance.

The second focuses on group values, such as morality, universal good, unselfishness, kindness.

The first one would shun anyone not strong enough to stand out, while the second will hate anyone who has ambitions which do not comply to the society's trends.

In fact, the word 'ambitious' is a negative-value word in those languages (for example, Russian word 'амбициозный').

The most popular praise and disapproval, respectively, are:

'you are so rich', (healthy, strong, beautiful, lucky, beaten everyone else)

and 'you are a loser' (weak, poor, beaten by anyone)

in the first type of culture and 'you are caring' (honest, kind, respectful, knowing, wise, responisble, hard-working) and 'you are selfish' (cheaty, neglectful, scornful, careless, lazy) in the second type of cultures.

So, after such an introduction, let's catch on matter...

I, personally, have lived for all of my life in a second type culture country, and may have a tiny bias, but still understand both of them.