Stash for an IRA or for debt, which is wisest?

Cassie

Hi guys,

I'm a full time student on a VERY limited budget, and we're talking Ramen Noodle eating every night. I want to make some wise financial decisions for my future and thought someone could provide some advice. I'll be receiving around $500 back in scholarship and grant money fairly soon. Sooo, should I;

1. Put that money in a savings account and wait until I have the minimum needed to open up a money market mutual fund?

2. Put that money in a savings account and wait until I have enough to open up a Roth IRA? (

3. Put that money toward debt? Right now I'm paying off a new car *groan* and my biggest goal is to have the loan paid off in three years instead of five. I also have student debt which is under $5,000 and currently in deferment.

My ultimate goals are to get an IRA opened, have an emergency fund established, start contributing the max to my IRA, get my car paid off, and finally get my student loans paid off. I'm just not sure if I'm approaching them in the right order. Debt sucks, but it makes me nervous the more I prolong opening up an IRA for myself. If I pay my car off first (let's say, in three years) that could be a lot of money lost due to no compound interest.

I don't have a lot of money coming in right now, and I want to make sure I'm using the little income stream I have as best as I can.

You should put that money towards better food!

Your financial goals are very admirable and impressive. You are definitely on the right track...

For now though, these decisions are a ways off. Put that $500 into savings (not a CD or money market fund) and leave it there as a cushion in case something comes up, e.g., your car breaks down, rent goes up, etc.