I regret that it took so long to finally grow up.

FoxLocke

Next month is my birthday. I am going to be twenty-six years old. I will be officially over the hump and on my way to thirty. I am scared about it. It isn't because I'm afraid that thirty is old. It is, primarily, because I am not where I thought I would be when I was 15/16ish...

I won't go into great detail (you can read about my angsty issues in my post archive) but sometimes I feel inadequate. I'm almost twenty-six and I've just figured out what I want to do with my life and in what direction that I wanted it to go...

When I was a teen I really hated highschool. I hated it so much that I graduated, approximately, three years earlier than I was supposed to(I recently went to my 10 year reunion). When I went back I saw all of my old peers and etc. They all looked so different. Many of them were losing a little hair, a bit thick in the waist, and were married(some had children). Although the majority weren't high powered coporate executives they still had the lives of "grown ups." I thought I had matured alot but the one comment I got was, "Man, you still look like a little kid!" or, "You still look exactly the same!"

I know they meant it as a compliment; however, I sometimes feel like I got frozen in time. I feel like I got permanantly stuck on age 17 and now I'm FINALLY growing up...I feel so behind, and sometimes it makes me feel very inadequate...