Social Anxiety Disorder or Exteme Shyness?

i am 18 years old and i am in my first year of college. for as long as i can remember i have always been a quiet kid and havn't really ever talked much. Once i am warmed up to people i tend to be extremly outgoing and i sometimes do not know when to shut up. not to sound cocky, but in a lot of friend group settings, im more of the life and fun of the moment. it does in fact, take me a long time to warm up to this extent however.

i have been dating my girlfriend for 9 months now and i still find myself too 'shy' to say things to her or do things that i know she'd be completely cool with, but i just cant muster the motivation. so yea, it takes me a while

in highschool, i wasnt the popular jock type with every friend in the world. i have my fair share of friends though, dont get my wrong. i cant walk around at our friday night games without hearing my name shouted every 10sec. but in class, i am very very very quiet and all around too scared to talk.

when i am in a sporting event or a TON of attention is on me (award banquets and stuff) i tend to be a little more open. (weird i know). and when i played tennis, i wasnt shy at all, i would mess up and yell as loud as i could with about 100 strangers all staring at me, and i didnt care at all. but once i was done, i sat in silence again.

i always feel like anyone i am talking to is judging me in the most negative way and is constantly finding something wrong with me. i cant get this feeling out of my head that although im probably doing nothing weird, i always feel this person is seeing me and thinking "wow, what a weird kid"...and if group settings with people i dont really know, i feel "out of the loop" so to say. i dont really feel like im apart of the group too much and i tend to not talk until i am asked for my opinion.