Aaaagh! Struggling to make career decision!

Hi,

I've been working for the same company for the last four years. It's my first job in my chosen career. The company is small - just five people, and after two managers, I'm the most senior person there, and am highly respected.

I've reached a situation where I think it's time to move on as the company isn't really going anywhere and I'm just doing the same thing on a day to day basis - not really learning any more, but I just don't know what to do.

The problem is, that the management (who I don't have a great deal of respect for to be honest considering the lack of speed in growth of the company) appear to finally be getting their act together and more work might be coming in soon. They have big plans. If I leave, I might miss out on a good opportunity to do some interesting work.

The job is comfortable and pretty well paid, in a nice part of town with quite a few perks and mostly nice people, but it's not stretching me and I feel as if I don't leave at some point then I'll regret not seeing what lse is out there. I don't want to be there for the rest of my life, so I guess that means I'll have to leave at some stage!

If I left, I'd hand my notice in and leave by Christmas, go travelling for a few months to pursue another interest of mine - photography - and then return home and freelance for a bit before probably trying to find a job at a big company.

Basically, I feel like I'm in a rut and would like to see what else is out there, although I'm concerned that the rut could potentially get better and I'd miss out having built myself a nice little niche.

My heart says leave and do something different - take a risk for once - but it's so difficult to decide - can someone who's been in a similar situation offer some advice?

Thanks.

How soon do you think the big plans will come to fruition?