She's taken; Am I being stupid?

So to start off, I'm in high school; here's my "problem":

There's this girl who I like, and I have a bit of a backround with her. A few months ago I'm pretty sure she liked me, but I liked this other girl, and made it pretty obvious. That "other girl" turned out to not like me, so I moved on.

I started noticing the current girl more, and more, and started liking her. I thought she might still like me, but I'm not good at making the first move, so I just started talking to her slowly (progressively). Then I noticed her kinda looking at me, and looking away really fast when I glanced her way.

Next part needs a little backround, so I'll give it. I hold a position in a marching band, so that I conduct, and she plays the saxophone. We started making alot of eye contact, sometimes really prolonged (7ish seconds without saying a thing, and from a distance). (Later on I'd wonder if it was just because I was conducting)

I finally decided one day that I would ask her out to eat, but that same day she, apparently, got with some guy.

A little more backround: she had rejected that same guy a few times back when I'm pretty sure she liked me, but he persisted.

I told myself I'd just forget it, but I couldn't, convincing myself that I still had a chance with her. Anytime I see them together he's trying to get close to her, but she distances herself from him, usually putting her best friend between them, or just scooting towards her friend, away from him. (I wonder if this is because she doesn't like him, or because it's "band policy" that during any band related activity there will be no "PDA". (public display of affection)