Anyone out there cured of cheek biting?

baybrat

I've had this habit for about 30 years. I chew constantly on the insides of my cheeks and lips. I've worn my teeth doing it. I can't stop even though my teeth are so sensative from doing it, I'm in pain all the time. I've read that this habit is related to cutting and picking. I can't afford another bill for therapy. I know it's probably stress related. Does anyone know of a way to stop?

You're teeth aren't worn from cheek biting.. If you're a cheek biter chances are you are a bruxer too. (Clenching and grinding your teeth) Either way, both habits are painful.

I'm a dental hygiene student and I have the same habit.. All my life.. My teeth are already worn to half their size and I'll need skin grafts to replace my gums that I've worn away by grinding in the next year or so.

Throughout the day try to become aware of your cheek biting (and clenching your jaw if you do that too). The first step to breaking a habit is becoming aware of it. When you catch yourself doing it, stop. Remind yourself to relax. Rinse and repeat as many times as needed. It isn't easy but as long as you are countering your habit little by little you'll start doing it less.

The other thing you might want to think about doing is talking to your dentist about getting a mouth guard to wear at night. Not a sports mouth guard.. Your dentist can make you one specifically for grinding your teeth. If your habit is really strong even at night you will eventually need to get it replaced. Your teeth are stronger than plastic and so they will only wear away the plastic of the mouth guard rather than wear away the enamel of your teeth. In the long run it's a lot better to replace a piece of plastic.