On line Dating after a LTR break up

bighair

Hi Friends:

I would love to get your input on something. I was in an LTR for nearly 7 years. I met my ex thru work. We broke up a few months ago and I am ready to meet people, and move forward. So, I've been doing the whole on line dating thing for nearly 3 months.

I did post recently about being strung along by a guy who could never schedule a date in a timely fashion and then cancelled 2 dates. What I'm grappling with is dating again, on line no less, after being with someone for sooo long. It's very weird.

I don't know what chemistry means. I was instantly attracted to my ex when we met at work. I definitely remember that click, the attraction, the fireworks, my heart skipping a beat...It was awesome.

I just haven't felt that way again with some of these dates. I felt a connection a month or so ago w. a guy I went out with. We hit it off, had a good time and he never called again. I then went out w. 2 other guys and with the first guy, I didn't feel that "animal attraction" but he asked me out again, and I guess I'll go because he is extremely smart and just a good guy. The 2nd guy I found very handsome, personable, and again, I'd like to see him again but I just have not had that "click" that we are so fond of describing. I also went out w. a guy who couldn't keep his hands off me. I didn't understand that at all because, again, I felt no click and really believed he didn't feel attracted to me.

I wonder if my radar is off. I wonder if I am truly ready to date. I feel lonely without the companionship of a partner. I'd like to hear from those people who ended something long term who are back in the playground. Can you all relate to these feelings?

What is this chemistry? Does it take a couple of dates? My parents marriage was arranged by their parents and they have been married for nearly 40 years. Or, is this just on line dating I am reacting to?

Your thoughts are appreciated.