For those interested in a novel length story...

Hi, I'm new here. I don't know where to start... I don't know if I'm doing this more for advice or to just get it out because it's killing me inside.

I guess I'll start from the beginning and try to keep everything in a nutshell as best I can, I apologize in advance for the length.

I met her 8 years ago (1997) on the school bus. I was a sophomore, she a freshman. It didn't take long before I noticed everyone picked on this innocent, sweet girl. All because of her name (I'll keep that private for now.) Needless to say (and without trying to sound arrogant) I put a stop to it. We became friends, and after a few weeks we dated. It was that way off and on throughout high school. By senior year, I realized that I had fallen in love with this girl. She found me to be her "Knight in Shining Armor" due to the bus incident, and we were happy as could be.

Well, of course high school drama got in the way. We broke up. I was devastated, and moved back to my home town Las Vegas to live with my Dad after I graduated. We didn't speak for two years. I thought of her everyday and my yearbook even has a crease from the amount of times I opened to the page with her picture.

Those two years came and went, my dad moved into a new house and I took over his old one as a tenant. In the later part of the year I found myself at my dad's house for Thanksgiving dinner. Just before we sat down I decided to check the e-mail I had on my dad's AOL account. I did this every so often to empty it, since it was nothing but spam anyway, and I was about to remove the e-mail address. Well, sure enough, there was an e-mail from her. As I was reading it she IM'd me, but since I was about to feast I couldn't really talk. So we exchanged numbers, I told her I would give her a call and then signed off. We talked for a few weeks on the phone and I decided that I'd make my way back to California to see her for her birthday.