How to get a little help from friends?

Hey I'm pretty new to the whole dating scene. My biggest thing is that I want to find some other guys (or girls) to go out with and meet women. My problem is that I move around a lot and I have a hard time making friends. I have lots of friends but they are states away. I think it is incredibly hard to meet women alone, but it seems that if you have a friend to help you and support you and yes, even make fun of you a little ( to keep it all in context), that my fear of women becomes manageable. Any help about making friends (men or women) that can help me with my dating and social life in general?

Not the best idea but get a very cute dog. Walk that dog alone or with friends in an area with lots of women. The dog acts as an icebreaker, I tried that tonight, works wonders. Although I did not talk to any of the girl who went for the dog, it does work. Just my two cents.

your's caught my eye because I have somewhat the same problem except meeting guys of course. though mine has nothing to do with fear of men. and I have lived in the same area now for a long time. just that most women seem to just want to stay at home or do stuff where there are no men involved which is kind of lame for me since it makes it kind of hard to meet men. and with wonderful double standards cant go to a bar alone, or men assume you are looking for sex (?) (I personally don't see the correlation between the two, but.. I'm not the one who creates that double standard) Any suggestions would certainly be appreciated. I'm thinking of trying golf. but again like I mentioned before my friends seem to prefer activities that don't involve men being around, so I'm not sure if I'll even be able to do that alone.