The stigma attached to virginity

Hello there! I'm a 22 year old Student. I'm useless with girls, I'm a little shy,I can't read the signs and am oblivious to girls checking me out until the moment has passed. I'm too friendly, I chat to new people all the time and can't tell the difference between girls smiling at me because of this or because they like me. This post isn't about my reasons for being useless though, that's just a bit of background.

How great is the stigma attached to virgins. I'm a virgin, I've never kissed a girl and never had a girlfriend. Me and a mate were in a friends flat a while back and her flatmates were talking about guys. They seemed to agree that they could never go out with or sleep with a virgin, 'because it would be crap wouldn't it, he would have no experience'.

At 22 is it too late, is it too much of a stigma. I've told a few (male) friends before, and they seemed quite shocked, initially they thought I was a virgin through choice. But will girls automatically assume I am a loser because I am a virgin. Girls of my generation seem to value experience, and I don't blame them for it, so am I so far behind to catch up. I need the experience to get a girl and I need a girl to get the experience.

The reason I ask is that I couldn't really contemplate, if I ever did get that far with a girl, not telling her it was my first time.