I have been going crazy looking for a job since graduating in May and last week learned of a Spanish teaching position while visiting a friend in a different state. While I don't have a degree in education, they are accepting people with only a bachelor's degree. While I have no desire to be a teacher on a permanent basis, I believe I could do it for a year or two. There are a few problems though...

-I have no experience with children, except that I was one once. I never babysat or anything and have no younger siblings.

-My family describes me as weak, unsociable, and unable to be an authority figure

-I am waiting to get letters of recommendation and have already been turned down by one professor (more or less) who said they didn't know me well enough to write a letter. I was always quiet in class, so I fear the others my give me similar responses

-I have never lived alone before. Picking up and moving out within the next few weeks would be a drastic step

I really think the experience of teaching could be good for me...if I am successful. While I am shy and reserved, I believe in taking risks and not reserving myself to a boring risk free life.

I would just like some opinions. Should I persue this, or does it sound like I'm not cut out to teach? Thanks!!!

Definitely pursue it. Don't listen to your family - just go ahead and prove them wrong.

I know a number of good teachers and some of them are shy outside the classroom but are not inside it because they have confidence in their ability. So can you. Go for it and don't be persuaded otherwise.

well thats definitely great advise from your parents... i think you should listne to themm... NOT! k why are your parents trying to do that to you??? i think thats so rude...