...is it too late? Why is eduacation after HS so important??

I've been thinking about the reality of this problem for a long time. Coming this September I will have been out of school for two years. My original plan was to go to college after taking just a year off. Things worked out a lot differentl because I wasn't able to keep a job steady for long enough. A few barista and café jobs here and there but nothing that lasted more than a few months.

3 months after I graduated from highschool I met my ex - which lead into an 8½ month relationship. To me she was the best thing that ever happened to me and I was already getting really stressed ot about life after highschool and needed a shoulder to lean on. Ok, I realize I needed to lean on some other things instead of how mich I leant on her but life wasn't presenting me with many alternatives. in a lot of ways I wish she would have leant on me more

I'm at a library right now waiting for a study group to begin for an exam I am preparing to fail. I dropped out two-weeks before it was over - missin and entire unti of notes, and two exams, including the final. I took it as a prerequisite to final get some post-secondary education in my system. A tech school caught my eye because I have always been interested in computers and I know that being a programmer can open up opportunity for good salary.

But they really didn't have what I wanted. Not exactly. In fact, I didn't even KNOW what I wanted. I still don't. Programming and doing WEb/graphics development is more interesting to me but that school doesn't offer anythign even close. in fact - i don;t even NEED that stupid class to take it. It's all extra curricular anyways. My ex broke it off with me for reasons i still don't understand (See my day-by-day journal) casing me to go into a rather strong depression. I couldn't take the loss of my first love. not now. not when life was already dishing out it's hardest.

but here's where i get that knife twisting in my gut...