Career Limbo

I could use some advice about my career. I initially went to college to get into the public relations space. I thought I'd work for a big magazine or TV station.  Upon graduating, I struggled to get a job. I was savvy with marketing and I was creative. I'm good at making things more efficient, creating new strategies, plans, processes, making things pretty- as I like to say,  building things from nothing, creating concepts, trying things. I love getting inspired by a new idea and running with it, but after so long it bores me and I either let it drop or like to hand it off. 

I finally got a job. I started doing marketing and IT at a local community college. I was savvy with computers, but was not an IT wizard. I was a newbie, as they say. I really needed training and someone to introduce me to the working world. At first, I was the boss' new shiny toy. But after a while, I would ask questions and it would be "you figure it out" and"I hired you for that"

So I started creating, doing, making, adding on my own. The office was poorly marketed and not appealing. I added flare, creativity, appeal, new ideas to the office. I learned from everyone around me. How to be organized, how to plan, how to network, and I soaked it in like a sponge. I essentially created a new job for myself. Our office got accolades for its newfound success. 

But after a few years, the boss got a shiny new toy. She hated me, because she liked my fun and creative job, and she wanted it. She was mean, cutthroat, and a liar. She turned the boss against me. He went from telling me I was doing an amazing job in June, to telling me how bad I was doing in August. I was doing what I always did. I followed the community College rules. I was figuring it out as he always told me to do. It was terrible to feel like a failure all of the sudden. I went through trauma daily in our once happy office. And that girl got my job, even before I left. I left after 4 years.