Should I tell the company I want to work for that their website has typos?

Guest Anonymous

Should I alert the firm I am contracting for about typos on their website?   

4 members have voted

1. 1. I am a new independent contractor attorney for a law firm and part of onboarding was reviewing their website's services pages, where I found a bunch of typos. I made a Word doc with each one I found. I was going to tell them about the typos but now I'm wondering if it is appropriate?

• Yes, I'd want to know if my website had typos.
    • No, not your job.
    • Other (comment)

12 hours ago, Guest Anonymous said:

no 

What do you mean by "review their website? Do they want a grammar and spelling critique?

Why would an attorney rather than an IT tech/web-designer be doing this? Makes no sense. What exactly are they hiring you to do?

Is this a fly-by-night ambulance chaser type of firm? What's up with the poorly designed/edited website?

13 hours ago, boltnrun said:

If your job is to review the website, why wouldn't you tell them?

Well my job isn't to review their website, it is to actually draft and review legal contracts and possibly some other things as needed. But as part of the "onboarding" process, they had me review their website's "services" page to familiarize myself with what services they offer to their clients. It was while I was doing this that I found the minor typos. 

8 hours ago, Guest Anonymous said:

Why would you contract with a firm that hires we designers that can't spell?

Haha I think it was really due to lack of proofreading than not knowing how to spell. 

3 minutes ago, Guest Anonymous said:

they had me review their website's "services" page to familiarize myself with what services they offer to their clients. It was while I was doing this that I found the minor typos.