How do you voice your opinions and stop acting like a third wheel?

DarkCh0c0

Hi everyone,

Hope you're having a great Friday!

I want to ask if any of you have tips on voicing your concerns, opinions, boundaries, and teaching people how to treat you.

When I was with my ex, I was treated like a third wheel. Didn't really have a say and my needs didn't matter.

At work, I'm also currently being treated like a third wheel. They want to manage me as an employee without giving the benefits of being one (I'm a contractor). My manager favours my colleague and likes to give her more credit and hands her any HR task she can do even though it's mine. And when a task is mine, my colleague finds a reason to do it herself ("it's related to marketing, I can do it"). After working here for a year, I have not felt appreciated like with my previous clients... I wasn't even invited to the company retreat last week because they wanted to save money on inviting me and I had to take the hint that I wasn't invited (was told later explicitly that they didn't want to spend money on me and my previous colleague). Aside from that, my manager discriminated against me and attempted to degrade and humiliate me (I stood up for myself though! And I learned it's the reason why previous colleagues would leave effective same day in a rush as soon as they got an opportunity). She also becomes a micro manager at times and this frustrates me. I had voiced my concerns to her before, but she points her finger back at me without taking responsibility for her inefficient management and lack of communication skills. Bright side is I've been job searching and interviewing with some amazing bigger and more global companies recently, so I'm sensing I'm close to getting a great job.

But I don't know how to teach people that I'm not just an extra wheel...if that makes any sense here. I'm afraid of voicing a disagreement and I'm a people pleaser.