Should I leave my kids father after 8 years?

Kaela

This is my first time posting on here, I literally searched for relationship forums on google just for advice. 

I am 26 years old, I have been in a relationship with my boyfriend for 8 years. We have two children together, he has been through grief from his father’s murder and plenty of deceit from his childhood friends and close brother. We also have gotten through drug addiction together and have been clean for 5 years, I say all this to say he has a lot of trauma.

He is not motivated at all to work, get therapy, or even work on his physical health. I have been taking care of the whole family for the whole 5 years alone I’ve constantly asked for help but he just blames me for all of his issues. He is a amazing father to our two kids he constantly spends time with them while I work and conquer my goals to elevate, but our relationship is dead. We don’t sleep in the same bed, go out together, have sex, kiss or anything intimate for the past 3 years. It’s like we are living as roommates I feel I’m sooo young to be settling for this because I know I deserve better but he is the only support I have with my children, while I’m working and reaching my goals. Sometimes I feel stupid for staying because I want and deserve more in a relationship, but other times I feel that I’m being patient until the kids get a little older so I can continue to work and run my business.

He gets very revengeful after I leave. I believe it’s because he has nothing without me I have taken care of him for a very long time. 

I once left in the past and he completely decided not to be a present father so I would need him again.

I’m not sure if I’m being smart or wasting my time, I just need a strangers opinion at this point this has been going on for way too long. Please let me know what you guys think?? 

Edited by Kaela