How to stop a relationship feeling like a friendship

Hey, this is my first time doing this so bare with me.

I've gotten in to this new-ish relationship with a friend and it felt great at first and thankfully she helped me get over some barriers regarding sex that my ex left me with but ever since then it feels like she's become distant or more friend like. Unfortunately we have conflicting schedules with work and personal life. To make things worse an old friend that I used to have some intense feelings about has come back into my home town and from time to time I think about them. I feel like I need some sort of advice or just someone to tell me that everything is gonna be great.

8 hours ago, Ozzy said:

she helped me get over some barriers regarding sex that my ex left me with but ever since then it feels like she's become distant or more friend like. 

How long were you dating your ex? How long ago did you end things? What do you mean by "sexual barriers"?

Do you mean things ended because of sexual incompatibility?

As far as these friends, keep them as friends. 

Get a good profile and pics on quality dating apps and start talking to and meeting women for a coffee .

Start fresh. Don't mess up friendships by trying to get sexual with them.

This is part of trying to change from friend to lover. There is no infatuation period, because you two know each other and already comfortable. Distance can make the heart grow fonder, but it also can cause a disconnect emotionally. To keep the home fires burning is to be spontaneous. Like a 5 minute date, sending a romantic card, order lunch for her, etc. Think outside the box.

• Like 1

What is it.. the you want 'great'?

To be fully over an ex?  To get involved with your past interest?  Or to be able to progress with this new (ish) one?