Dating - Jealousy and Overcomplimenting Red Flags?

Hi!

I got out of a bad relationship a while back and I am just getting into a new one. I realized that the last guy was potentially abusive and I spent a lot of my time being single looking at the red flags i missed. Now, this guy is incredibly sweet. Would do anything for me. Constantly compliments me and tells me i'm perfect, amazing, etc. He sometimes gets a little jealous but it never crosses into possessiveness. he never tells me what to wear, who to see or anything like that. He just may say "wow you look amazing tonight, I'm going to have to fight off all those guys looking at you." or something along those lines. In my in depth dive I found jealousy and overcomplimenting as red flags. I am worried that i'm being hyper vigilant. I just don't want to get into anything like with my ex. Thanks! ❤️ 

1 minute ago, coly16 said:

. In my in depth dive I found jealousy and overcomplimenting as red flags.  ❤️ 

Relax and take it one step at a time. The remark is in itself not disconcerting.

Make sure you leave the past in the past. Accept compliments graciously.

This seems like flirting not red flags. 

You did the right thing taking time off to reflect what happened and understand what red flags 🚩 look like.

• Like 1
1 hour ago, coly16 said:

"wow you look amazing tonight, I'm going to have to fight off all those guys looking at you."

That is not jealousy, that is just a compliment. Bit cringy one but still a compliment. Jealousy would be if he said "Dont wear that mini skirt, other guys would watch" or "Block that guy on social network, I dont like him". Or even something more benign like "I dont like how that guy was looking for you/you looking that guy". 

Now "love bombing" may be considered a red flag, but still dont see that he tells you how he would, I dunno, marry you or something along those lines.  This is more in lines of standard compliment stuff.

5 hours ago, coly16 said: