My girlfriend taunts me. How can I win her respect back?

Lucas98

I am a foreign exchange student (please excuse my English if I make some mistakes) and something really embarrassing happened to me recently.

I went to this nightclub with my US girlfriend the other day and got really drunk.. I ended up hitting on another woman and I laid a hand on her bum while doing so (I really don´t know what I was thinking. I´m really ashamed of myself 😞 ). Long story short, I got my ass whooped severely by that girls boyfriend, my face was bruised and swollen for a week. My girlfriend taunts me a lot because of this, she tells me what kind of weakling I was for getting beaten. Even if she does it in a joking way, it still hurts and I want to win her respect back..

What do you think?

3 minutes ago, Lucas98 said:

I got my ass whooped severely by that girls boyfriend, my face was bruised and swollen for a week. My girlfriend taunts me a lot because of this, she tells me what kind of weakling I was for getting beaten.

Go to the police and file an assault charge. Get control of your drinking. End it with the GF.

Making light of a very ugly situation doesn't mean she lost respect for you necessarily.

That said, does it occur to you that she is taunting you not because you got beat up, but rather because YOU hurt her feelings by hitting on and groping another woman in your gf's face? Have you apologized to her about it and addressed it with her? That might be a good place to start if you want her to stop taunting you about it.

Why on earth would you want to win her respect back? She has no self-control - why resort to taunting? Not a very mature move despite your loss of control (an eye for an eye blah blah blah). She could simply have broken up with you - end of story. Was there a reason why you acted out? Was the relationship an unhappy one to begin with?