Am I asking too much?

Hi all,

I would like your advice on a recurring relationship issue.

Right now I am studying for a degree while also working full-time. My SO happens to be a professional in the field I'm studying for, so I ask him a lot of homework questions.

Recently I went over to SO's place for a few days because I had a homework deadline coming up. Normally I only go over one day a week to hang out. Because of the deadline I was pretty stressed. I was behind and wasn't sure if I could finish on time.

My SO likes to play video games. Normally he goes on voice chat several times a week. Whenever he does this he gets pretty loud, which makes it hard to concentrate. Leading up to the deadline he may have done 1-2 voice chats.

Fast forward to 2 hours before the homework is due. He comes over and asks if he can do a voice chat. At this point I'm still not done with homework, and I'm pretty panicked as a result. I have one problem left and it's a tricky one; he knows this.

I tell him I'd rather he not play with the friend. He asks again if we can compromise. I still rather not, but I say fine. He goes online and starts chatting, and the noise bothers me.

I later asked him why he wanted to compromise, while knowing I was under a deadline. He said he had already been staying quiet for the past few days. He says he was antsy and wanted to play with his online friend. I guess he was tired of accommodating me at that point.

My question: is it unreasonable for me to want him to stay quiet for the few days while I am over, and not have to deal with his gaming on top of my deadline? Is it too much for me to ask him to stay quiet during critical moments like these?

When things like this happen I feel like he cares more about video games than me. I don't know what to think. Maybe I am asking too much.

43 minutes ago, creamcheesecoffee said: