How to respond to this recruiter approaching me for a role at my former employer?

Hi all,

I received an email from a recruiter I know pretty well for a role in a Big4 I left about a year ago now. I currently in industry and would eventually like to return to this Big4 at some point.

The requirements in the job description don't 100% align with my current skill-set as they require someone working towards a corporate finance qualification (ACCA, ACA, CPA etc...), which I am, but they also require this individual to have 3 years PQE (I have 6 years professional experience, but obviously not PQE as I haven't finished my exams yet). A bit confusing.

The recruiter basically bragged about how great this Big4 would look on a CV etc... (perhaps he forgot I worked at this very same company last year) and finished his email saying "he may appreciate this role might not be for me, but if I know someone in my network etc...".

I assume he already assessed that my CV does not fully align with the role. The thing is I'd like to let him know I'm open to new roles and potentially re-joining my former Big4 if a suitable opportunity arises (without saying "I think I'm not qualified enough for the role you just presented").

How do I approach this?

Thanks!

hmmm... well considering he contacted you,  I would not tell him you don't think you're qualified. At least not in your response.

I would respond back that you're interested in opportunities at this firm and ask if he would like to talk more. give him 2 different times you can talk....  something short and to the point like....

Thank you for reaching out to me.  I am interested in opportunities at XYZ. I can be available to talk on Monday morning or Thursday midday. Do either of these times fit in your schedule?