I (18F) recently ended a relationship/friendship with a guy (17M) for the time being. I am now regretting my decision.

amazingnacho

So this guy and I have been talking since late last year. We would talk mostly every day, and we really liked each other. So he made it official earlier this year in February. (Disclaimer: I am new to this relationship stuff). After a month or so of dating, I noticed he was beginning to act weird, by not texting me and ignoring me. We eventually talked and he told me he was feeling "distracted/off" because we were around each other a lot. I was hurt about this but we both decided to take a break.

The break wasn't that long, but we came to the conclusion we were better off as "friends" who liked each other. After the break happened I began to worry about his feelings about me, as in I thought he was losing feelings for me. I also began to worry that he might be cheating on me, but I don't think he gives me a reason to because he allowed me to look through his phone. But I have recently found out from his sibling that he has cheated before in his last relationship.

I feel as though these worries stem from my childhood experiences of my own parents having issues (cheating, untrusting, toxicity, etc). From all of this, I began to overthink A LOT, to the point where I decided I needed a break from this relationship and this happened over the weekend. So I told him I can't be 'friends" with him right now because of his actions and my overthinking. He said he understands but I know I hurt him really bad. I am trying to focus on myself, so far I have scheduled an appointment with a therapist to help me out with my overthinking habits, and relationships.