I´ve been wanting to break up with my boyfriend because he has no ambition or life goals

My boyfriend and I have been together for just about 3,5 years. I'm 23 years old and he's 21. We both still live with our parents and we see each other every weekend. I've been a university student for two years now studying psychology and I go to school three days a week and two days a week I go to my internship. Now my boyfriend has a degree, not at a very high level. When he got his degree in programming he started his first job but it ended very dramatically. They were gonna fire him because of getting into arguments almost every week so he quit his job before they were able to fire him. According to him, he did nothing wrong. Then he went to work at a grocery store and his 6 month contract wasn't renewed after that. So now he's jobless. Then he went back to the programming company he did his internship with for school. but eventually they had to let him go cause they couldn't afford to pay him anymore.

So in short nothing worked out for him, whether it was by his own doing or not. When we first met, he was super ambitious about programming. He would even do it in his free time. Now after encountering these few companies and colleagues he didn't see eye to eye with, he says he never wants to work with computers ever again. Then his next plan was to start going to university like me. He said he would easily be able to handle it because he is a hard worker (in his own opinion). Then not even a few months later he takes this vague job opportunity to start a trajectory of becoming a store manager, something he never had mentioned to have wanted to do. This was proposed to him at a new job. Not even a week after that he was fired again, for calling in sick. I don't think it's right that they fired him for calling in sick with COVID during these years. He did the right thing and they were wrong to fire him over it. So now we are in the present.