I'm so, so sick of programming

I'm a (mostly) self-taught game programmer who managed to freelance for several years. It was halfway decent money, but my clients all failed in their projects and I had nothing to show for the time spent, so work dried up. I fell back on retail, toiling away on a personal project, but I hated my circumstances and although I designed this game to be simple, it wasn't simple enough. My focus began deteriorating and the years dragged on.

I finally managed to release the game on Steam. The genre and scope were more appropriate for mobile, but I had lost confidence in mobile controls. I did receive one positive review, and a compliment on Unity's forums about the presentation being well done...and that was it. The return rate was high; people apparently expect more from desktop games than what I was able to deliver. In fact, thanks to the $100 minimum for Steam payouts, I'm ashamed to say that I haven't received a single penny for any game of my own after a decade of trying.

All I want is to design. I'm good at programming, but it was only ever intended as a means to an end. I made the mistake of dropping out of college, so I'm not qualified to do anything except maybe go back to freelancing. I've redesigned my game's mobile controls so that even my father picked it up after only a couple of minutes; it might actually do well if I port it over. Also, I'd like to think I've finally learned how to design a game to be as simple and quick to develop as possible while still having some appeal.

The problem is, I'm just so, so fed up with programming. I still think I can achieve something, but I don't really believe it anymore. I'm sick of trying, but I'm also sick of being so utterly unsuccessful. What am I supposed to do?