Is it time for me to propose to him?

I have been with my boyfriend for 5.5 years. I am 30, he is 32. I am so ready to get engaged and take the next step in my life with him. However, with these kinds of decisions he seems to drag his feet (he wouldn't move in with me until we were together for almost 3 years, I was ready much earlier). He says he wants to be with me forever and wants marriage, kids with me.

Additionally, I am a doctor and I wish to have kids before age 35 - I am keenly aware of the risks to mom and baby after this age and I strongly desire to minimize those risks. We are at the point that I think if I left it up to him, he would propose in 1-2 years. He doesn't really have a good reason for waiting and I have difficulty understanding why he thinks that would be a good time (despite many, many conversations - he can't seem to articulate his thoughts about it). In the meantime, I feel like I'm going to drive him crazy with my engagement/marriage talk if we postpone it much longer. So I have been thinking about taking matters into my own hands. I feel like maybe I should just go ahead and propose to him. He is not very traditional and I feel like the idea of proposing is stressful to him and not something he super wants to do. Additionally, he is basically opposed to engagement rings (as the idea was invented by the De Beers ad campaign) so I already knew to not really expect one of those. I know a proposal would definitely take him by surprise and he would likely find it very flattering.

However, there is a part of me that is terrified this is not what he really wants and that he truly isn't ready and he says no and then we break up...

What are your thoughts? Should I go through with this?

After reading this, I am wondering why you continue with this: "