Help! Should I go no contact on a boy I used to have feelings for?

Aliyah

Hello, this is my first time ever posting on here so sorry in advance if I do not follow protocols. I just recently turned 18 F and he is 18 M whom I'll call William.

So I met William in the 7th grade where we went to a small charter school in IA. We were not really close when I first started going to that school since I was new, but we became closer in the eight grade. Which is also around the same time I started to have a crush on him. I was pretty naive at the time and William was kind, popular, and very charming. Or so I though :(

I am a Muslim (and he is an Atheist) , and the school that I went to at the time only had 13 kids in my grade so everyone was pretty close. There was a girl there named "Karina" (Not her real name) who was the dominant person in the grade. I always wanted to sit at the lunch table with the popular kids and hang out with them at the park as well. Everyone there thought that William had a crush on me, but he never said it to my face.

Throughout the school year, William would say some hurtful things to me like "Stop Hijacking my plane" when I would sit next to Karina and some other friends. Or say "ARRR", since my parents are from Somalia. I felt uncomfortable at time and didn't say anything mean or negative to hime ever. I told him that was really hurtful and he apologized and did whatever he could to make it up to me which was being my personal assistant for the day (Writing this is making me cringe so hard).