This has been an issue of mine for a while now.  I'm currently between therapists, unfortunately.  (Hence why I've posted here a lot lately.) 

Imposter syndrome is something I've struggled with all my life.  I also have OCD.  (And I mean I really do have it.  I'm not just one of those people who brags about being "So OCD" like it's just a cute personality quirk.  I've been diagnosed by a mental health professional.)

Two things happened today that really got to me.  One, I was sketching out a painting in my art room, using a reference photo on the computer.  I'm a professional artist and there are multiple schools of thought about reference photos.  A majority of non artists think that using them is cheating.  Like if you're a real artist you should just be able to draw it out of your head and not use a reference photo. Truth is, most artists use them on some level.  Well today I was working away and had headphones on and my girlfriend came up behind me and was watching me draw without me knowing. 

I played it off like it was nothing, but this really messed with me.  I already feel like a fake most of the time.  I feel like one day everyone will find out I'm not really that talented and I've just been faking being an artist for all these years.  And now I'm paranoid about wearing headphones while working because now I worry that she will come up behind me and watch me again. 

Imposter syndrome is something that really gets to me when it come to my art career.  But I also have similar thoughts about my relationship.  I was talking to a mutual friend of ours earlier today and he assumed my gf and I knew each other for a really long time before we got together.  He acted all surprised when I told him I just met her last year.  The whole conversation was just really weird.  I kind of got the impression he was just really surprised she would even be with someone like me and that's why he assumed we had known each other for a long time.