I don't know whether I need to give my parter more time, or I should walk away.

loslolylo

Hi everyone,

This is my first time consulting the internet for relationship advice. So bear with my brevity if there aren't as many details as there should be.

Anyways,

I have been in a relationship with a girl now for about 3 years. I proposed to her January of this year and everything has been going fantastic. Just a couple months ago, she met my mom's side of the family and we had a blast (we are currently long-distance).

However, I started to be complacent with little things in the relationship. I wouldn't respond to all of her messages, I wasn't the best listener, etc. Then we had a big turning point: we normally had tentative plans to be somewhat closer to each other in the future, but when she discussed that she may end up wanting to open her options for different grad schools, I got a bit of anxiety and I got frustrated. I said, shouldn't we try to at least find places where we could be closer? She said yes, but she wanted to keep her options open. She asked me if I thought I would still want to work things out if we were long-distance in that future regardless. Out of anxiety/doubt, I said that I didn't know, and that I wasn't sure if it was even worth it.

She became very angry and over time she has gotten distant. I have tried to reconcile with her but she has told me she was still angry.