Is this love worth waiting for or should I move on?

I have been talking to the same guy for about 6 months now, and I am beginning to question the worth of this situation. When we first started talking we met through a dating app, so naturally I thought he was interested in possibly dating me. We hangout for about 3-4 weeks and he never makes a move on me, but we hangout all the time and are great friends with obvious potential physical chemistry. I finally make a move to later to find out that he was in a 5 year long term relationship that ended 2-3 months prior to us meeting, and he didn't want a committed relationship right now. He had moved states to basically start over and begin his training for his career. At the time I thought about ending what we had right then and there because this seemed like another case of potentially wasted time, but something intuitively told me otherwise. I have dated many men and know what I am looking for. We have an amazing connection and friendship that I've never had before, so I decided to continue and to live in the moment rather than worry so much about the future.