Manuka Honey?

Jellybean9

Hi Amazing Pet Owners!

Just wondering what everyone's thoughts are for using Manuka Honey on small wounds on cats and dogs?

I did a veterinary related degree and spent a lot of time with work experience in practice. I have seen many vets push medicines for "money" instead or using alternative natural treatments.

I know some vets and rescue centers use it as a valid treatment but very rare to find those that advise this.

I am not crazy and would never ignore going to the vet for something serious.

I read an interesting article about a women who was prosecuted for using it on her cat and banned for having pets for a year! She literally ignored her cat's condition which lead to amputation of his leg and subsequently had to be put down which was sad. All this could of been avoided if she seeked medical care for him.

So it's given some negative light to using it as manuka honey as a treatment.

Let me know if you have used it and how your pet has got on with it.

I've never done it or heard of anyone doing it... I don't recommend it for cats though as they would just end up licking it off and don't tolerate or digest it well. And couldn't imagine the sticky mess it would make in their fur, especially my on my RagDoll lol

Well the research on this is only regarding people as far as I know. You shouldn't actually put it directly on the wound, but rather via bandage.

As for animals like dogs and cats, it's actually risky to use because honey may be toxic to them if they ingest it. Some may be more tolerant than others to it, but if they lick it off or chew through the bandage, you can have a whole different problem on your hands.