Tumultuous Relationship

Ru3y716

This is my first time seeking help on an online forum because I've been feeling pretty alone in dealing with my relationship issues. I've been dating my boyfriend for almost 2 years now and we have recently moved into a new condo together that he bought. Since the move we have been having more conflicts. Recently, about two weeks ago he got annoyed at me and threw something on the floor in an outburst. I had no idea where it stemmed from and it escalated to a full-on argument, then I reacted to his throwing of objects and threw a cutting board at him. He continued to provoke me and dared me to throw more things. Eventually he got too close to me and pushed me physically, in turn I grabbed a pair of scissors to make him stay back. He wouldn't and continued coming closer to me in which I reacted and cut him 4 times. After it became physical, we finally both calmed down and distanced ourselves. I ended up sleeping downstairs away from him and avoided speaking to him for the rest of the night. The following day I took the day off work to seek counseling services at my local YMCA. We have always fought but this case was serious since it escalated to physical abuse so I knew I needed help. I know for a fact that I reacted defensively and I knew I had to protect myself in case he wanted to play victim. Since then I have signed up for 16 weeks of domestic abuse support group. We have talked about what happened and have agreed that the behavior was not okay and should never happen again. I'm doing my part in seeking help but since then he has not done anything to seek counseling or therapy. I'm not sure if its healthy for either of us to continue this relationship or if there is anything worth salvaging or if things can even be salvaged when things get this bad in a relationship.